Dreo vs Vornado Space Heater (2026): Which Is Better? Noise, Safety, Warranty and Price

For most people, buy the Dreo Whole Room Heater 714 ($89.95) over the Vornado TAVH10 ($129.99): it costs $40.04 less, and Wired names it Best Overall. Pick the Vornado for the quietest heater or a 5-year warranty; Dreo's is 12 months. Tom's Guide also picks it over the older VH200. Both cost $0.27 an hour to run.

Our two picks

Dreo Whole Room Heater 714 (DR-HSH034)

Dreo Whole Room Heater 714 (DR-HSH034)

$89.95 on Amazon

Best for: most people, in a bedroom or home office up to about 150 sq ft

Check price on Amazon

Dreo 714: 1,500 W, 90° x 60° oscillation, 12-hour timer, ETL

  • $40.04 less than the Vornado TAVH10 and $14.96 more than the Vornado MVH.
  • Wired's Best Overall; Tom's Guide picks it over the Vornado VH200 at the same price.
  • A thermostat that holds 41 to 95°F in 1°F steps.
  • The catch: testers measure 40 to 50 dB (Wired) and about 50 dB (Tom's Guide), against 34 dB on the listing, and the warranty is 12 months.
Vornado TAVH10

Vornado TAVH10

$129.99 on Amazon

Best for: a quiet bedroom, or a 5-year warranty

Check price on Amazon

Vornado TAVH10: 900 / 1,500 W, timer, remote, ETL

  • Wired's Best Quiet Heater: 36 to 46 dB, against 40 to 50 dB for the Dreo 714.
  • The listing says Vornado will "replace it, for up to 5 years."
  • The catch: $40.04 more than the Dreo 714, and no oscillation. The Vornado AVH10 at $99.99 is the same heater without the timer and remote, Wired says.

Prices are Amazon's on November 4, 2026; every heater is sold by Amazon.com.

Dreo 714 vs Vornado TAVH10 vs Vornado MVH, side by side

Dreo 714 vs Vornado TAVH10 vs Vornado MVH, side by side
FeatureDreo 714Vornado TAVH10Vornado MVH
Price on Amazon $89.95 $129.99 $74.99
Safety mark in the listing ETL ETL No mark named
Lab directory (Intertek) Yes: UL 1278 record Yes: UL 1278 record Yes: UL 1278 record
Thermostat 41 to 95°F in 1°F steps Digital, with auto climate control 7-setting adjustable
Timer 12 hours in the listing and Tom's Guide; Wired lists none 12 hours Not stated
Heat settings (watts) 900 / 1,300 / 1,500 (Wired) 900 / 1,500 (Wired) 750 / 1,125 / 1,500 (Good Housekeeping)
Oscillation 90° side to side, 60° up and down No oscillation (Wired) Not stated
Noise, maker 34 dB Not stated Not stated
Noise, tester 40 to 50 dB (Wired); about 50 dB (Tom's Guide) 36 to 46 dB (Wired) Among CR's six quietest, no number
Warranty 12 months Replacement for up to 5 years Replacement for up to 5 years
CPSC recall of this model No recall No recall No recall
Buy $89.95 on Amazon $129.99 on Amazon $74.99 on Amazon

Prices read November 4, 2026. Tester figures are Wired's, Tom's Guide's, Good Housekeeping's and Consumer Reports'; the listing is the maker's own words.

What other guides say, and our verdict on each

  • Dreo 714 over Vornado VH200

    Tom's Guide, January 9, 2026

    $99 at review time · Dreo says 34 dB, reviewer measured about 50 dB

    The Dreo wins at the same price. The Dreo 714 is $89.95 on Amazon today, so the gap in its favor is bigger now. The VH200 is an older Vornado name; the current Vornado models are on this page.

  • Dreo 714 Best Overall, Vornado TAVH10 Best Quiet

    Wired, updated November 2026

    $89.95 vs $129.99 on Amazon today · 40 to 50 dB vs 36 to 46 dB

    We follow Wired: the Dreo for most people, the Vornado when quiet and a timer matter most.

  • Vornado MVH first, Dreo Atom 316 second

    Good Housekeeping

    $74.99 and $35.96 on Amazon today

    Two different heaters from our two head-to-head pairs. The MVH is our value Vornado, and the Atom 316 is our small Dreo.

  • Vornado MVH over Dreo Atom One

    Family Handyman, September 24, 2025

    Vornado tip-over shutoff immediate; Dreo two to three minutes

    The one head-to-head safety test we found, and it favors Vornado. It tested the Atom One (our HSH004), not the 714, so it does not settle the 714.

  • Vornado VH10, VH200 and MVH among its six quietest

    Consumer Reports, updated November 5, 2025

    No Dreo model on its quiet list

    CR's list names three Vornado models and no Dreo, with no per-model decibel number. Only the MVH is a current Amazon listing we could read today.

Read from the pages linked in the sources on November 4, 2026.[1][2][3][4][5]

The rest of the field, by buyer type

  • Vornado MVH

    Vornado MVH

    Best for: the best-value Vornado

    $74.99 · 3 heat settings · 7-setting thermostat · no timer or remote in the listing

    Good Housekeeping's top pick and one of Consumer Reports' six quietest. Family Handyman found its tip-over shutoff the faster of the two brands it tested. The catch: no timer, so you switch it off yourself.

    $74.99 on Amazon
  • Dreo Atom 316 (HSH006)

    Dreo Atom 316 (HSH006)

    Best for: a small room or a desk, from Dreo

    $35.96 · 1,500 W · maker states 34 dB · 12-hour timer

    Good Housekeeping's second pick: a 7°F rise in a medium room in 30 minutes on max. The catch: Good Housekeeping measured 47.9 dB at 6 inches on max, and it warms one small room.

    $35.96 on Amazon
  • Vornado VC-01

    Vornado VC-01

    Best for: a small room or a desk, from Vornado

    $79.99 · 4 heat settings · timer · personal or whole-room mode · ETL

    Wired's Best Personal Heater: it warms the space in front of it by as much as 10°F. It costs $44.03 more than the Atom 316, and Wired says it has no thermostat.

    $79.99 on Amazon
  • Dreo HSH004 (Atom One)

    Dreo HSH004 (Atom One)

    Best for: a Dreo with oscillation and a remote for under $50

    $44.93 · 1,500 W · 70° oscillation · remote · 12-hour timer

    Family Handyman found a Dreo Atom One slower to shut off than a Vornado when tipped, so that is the trade-off for the lower price.

    $44.93 on Amazon

Which heats a room more evenly, Dreo or Vornado?

Each maker claims even heat in its own way. Vornado's TAVH10 listing says it warms the air "through Vortex Heat Circulation ... similar to how a forced air furnace works, just on a smaller scale." Dreo's 714 listing says it gives "12ft/s airflow with 60° vertical and 90° horizontal oscillation, ensuring fast, even warmth."[3][2][4][1][15]

What testers measured: Good Housekeeping measured a 7°F rise in 30 minutes from the Dreo Atom 316 in a medium room. Wired found the Vornado VC-01 warms the space in front of it by as much as 10°F. Family Handyman's Vornado MVH never reached 80°F in a 189 sq ft bedroom over three hours, and Tom's Guide says the Dreo 714's airflow is concentrated, which suits small to mid-size rooms.

What decides the room is watts. Every plug-in heater tops out at 1,500 W, and the maker Dimplex's rule of thumb is 10 W per square foot, so either brand warms about 150 sq ft.

Which is quieter?

Vornado, by the testers' numbers. Wired measured 36 to 46 dB for the TAVH10 and 40 to 50 dB for the Dreo 714. Tom's Guide measured about 50 dB for the 714 with a sound-meter app, against the 34 dB on the Dreo listing. Consumer Reports puts three Vornado heaters, the VH10, VH200 and MVH, among its six quietest and no Dreo.[2][1][5]

Treat a maker's decibel number as a best case. Dreo's listings state 34 dB; Vornado's listings state none. A lower number is quieter, and a 10 dB difference sounds about twice as loud.

Which is safer?

Both brands have the features and the paperwork. Every heater in this comparison has a thermostat and tip-over protection in its listing, and Intertek's public directory has a UL 1278 record naming each model: the record for each is linked in the table. UL 1278 is the safety standard for movable electric room heaters.[11][4][12]

The one head-to-head safety test we found favors Vornado: Family Handyman tipped a Vornado MVH and a Dreo Atom One, and the Vornado shut off immediately while the Dreo took two to three minutes. The tester called the Vornado the safer option. It did not test the 714, whose tip-over sensor triggers at 45° (Tom's Guide and Wired).

On any heater: plug it into a wall outlet, keep it 3 feet from anything that burns, and turn it off when you sleep (CPSC).

Best UL-listed space heater, checked in the lab directory

Which has the better thermostat?

On paper, Dreo: the 714 listing says it holds a set temperature from 41 to 95°F in 1°F steps. Vornado's TAVH10 and AVH10 listings say they sense how much heat and airflow are needed and adjust on their own ("auto climate control"). The MVH has a 7-setting dial.[2]

No tester we read published a degrees-off number for either brand. Wired calls the 714's thermostat accurate and says the thermostat on Dreo's Solaris 718 is not very accurate, so Dreo's thermostats vary by model.

Which has the better warranty?

Vornado. The TAVH10, MVH, AVH10 and VC-01 listings each say Vornado will replace the heater for up to 5 years, and Vornado's warranty page gives most products 5 years. Dreo's U.S. warranty covers defects for 12 months from the date of purchase. Over a few winters that gap is worth real money on a heater at these prices.[7][6]

Has Dreo or Vornado had a heater recall?

Both. The CPSC recalled the Dreo DR-HSH015 on October 29, 2026, and two Vornado models in the last two years. None of the heaters compared on this page is a recalled model; each recall is a different model number. Read the model number on the label under your heater and compare it with the rows below.[8]

Dreo and Vornado heater recalls: model, date, units, problem, where sold and the fix
RecallDateUnitsProblemWhere it was soldThe fix
Dreo DR-HSH015 October 29, 2026 about 338,800 Can overheat and ignite. 17 reports of ignition, 3 with property damage and 1 hand burn. Costco, Dreo.com, BestBuy.com, Kohls.com, Lowes.com, QVC.com, HomeDepot.com, B2BRenew.com; September 2025 to October 2026; $70 to $110. Amazon: no. Free replacement heater. Unplug it, cut the cord, and send DREO a photo.
Vornado SRTH small room tower heater June 4, 2026 about 255,000 The fan blade can come off the motor shaft, so the heater overheats and melts. 32 overheating reports, 8 fires. Kohl's, Bed Bath & Beyond, ACE Hardware, Vornado.com and Amazon.com; August 2013 to May 2026; $40 to $50. Amazon: yes. Full refund. Send Vornado photos of the heater and proof you destroyed it.
Vornado VH2 whole room heater January 16, 2025 about 7,780 The power cord can come partly loose from the heater and wear, which risks shock and fire. No injuries reported. Only on Amazon.com; August to October 2024; about $90. Amazon: yes. Free replacement. Contact Vornado to confirm your unit is included.

Is my space heater recalled? Every CPSC electric heater recall since 2024

Which costs less to run?

Neither. At the same 1,500 W, every plug-in heater turns the same power into the same heat: about $0.27 an hour on high at the U.S. average 18.19¢ per kWh (EIA Table 5.3, residential, year to date through August 2026), or $32.74 a month at 4 hours a day and $65.48 at 8. The thermostat, the timer and how many hours you run it change the bill, not the brand. The Dreo 714 has a middle 1,300 W step and the TAVH10 a 900 W step for mild days (Wired).[14][13]

What a space heater costs to run in your state

Which is cheaper to buy?

Dreo, model for model, at the sizes we compared. On Amazon today the Dreo 714 is $89.95, the Vornado MVH $74.99, the AVH10 $99.99 and the TAVH10 $129.99. For a small heater, the Dreo Atom 316 is $35.96 and the Vornado VC-01 $79.99. Family Handyman found the same pattern in 2025: its Dreo was about $20 cheaper than the Vornado.[4]

Which should I buy for a bedroom, an office or a larger room?

  1. Bedroom, quiet first:The Vornado TAVH10 ($129.99), the quietest by Wired's numbers, with the timer set. For less, the Dreo 714 ($89.95) also has a 12-hour timer, so set it there too.
  2. Bedroom or office, best price:The Dreo 714 ($89.95) for a room up to about 150 sq ft; its oscillation spreads the heat around.
  3. Desk or one person:The Dreo Atom 316 ($35.96), or the Vornado VC-01 ($79.99) if you want its stronger push of heat in front.
  4. Under $50:A Dreo. The Atom 316 ($35.96) is our pick under $50; Vornado's cheapest heater here, the VH202 personal heater, has no thermostat in its listing.
  5. A room over 200 sq ft:Neither brand's 1,500 W heater is the answer on its own. See our best space heater for a large room, or a mini split for a room you heat every day.

Best space heater under $50 · Best space heater for a large room · Quietest space heater for sleeping in a bedroom

What about the Vornado VH200 and VH10 that Consumer Reports names?

Those are older Vornado model names. Amazon's current Vornado heater listings are the 2026 models used on this page: the TAVH10, AVH10, MVH, VC-01 and others. So we compare the models you can buy today. Wired treats the AVH10 as the TAVH10 without the timer and remote.[2][5]

How did we choose?

We compared the heaters the big sites put against each other: the Dreo 714 with the Vornado TAVH10 and MVH (Wired, Tom's Guide, Good Housekeeping, Family Handyman, Consumer Reports), plus the small pair, the Atom 316 and the VC-01. Every price is Amazon's buy box on November 4, 2026; every listing is sold by Amazon.com. Safety facts are each listing's own words checked against Intertek's directory. Tester figures are the testers', with the page and date in the sources.[16]

Frequently asked

Is Dreo or Vornado better?
For most people, Dreo: the Dreo 714 ($89.95) is Wired's Best Overall and Tom's Guide picks it over a Vornado at the same price. Vornado is better if you want the quietest heater (Wired: TAVH10, 36 to 46 dB) or a 5-year warranty.
Which is quieter, Dreo or Vornado?
Vornado, by the testers' numbers: Wired measured 36 to 46 dB for the TAVH10 and 40 to 50 dB for the Dreo 714. Dreo's listings state 34 dB; Tom's Guide measured about 50 dB on the 714.
Which has the better warranty, Dreo or Vornado?
Vornado. Its listings say replacement for up to 5 years. Dreo's U.S. warranty is 12 months from purchase.
Has Dreo or Vornado had a recall?
Both. Dreo's DR-HSH015 was recalled October 29, 2026. Vornado's SRTH (June 4, 2026) and VH2 (January 16, 2025) were recalled. None of the heaters compared here is one of those models.
Which space heater costs less to run, Dreo or Vornado?
Neither. A 1,500 W heater costs about $0.27 an hour on high at the U.S. average price, whatever the brand.
Does a Vornado heat a room better than a Dreo?
Vornado says its vortex airflow warms the room's air evenly; Dreo says its oscillation does. Testers measured them in separate rooms: Good Housekeeping saw a 7°F rise in 30 minutes from the Dreo Atom 316, and Wired found the Vornado VC-01 warms the space in front of it by as much as 10°F. Both top out at 1,500 W, which warms about 150 sq ft.
Which Vornado heaters can I buy on Amazon now?
On November 4, 2026 the Vornado heaters we read there are the TAVH10, AVH10, MVH and VC-01. The VH200 and VH10 that Consumer Reports names are older model names.

References

Sources

16 references · prices on November 4, 2026
  1. 1

    Tom's Guide: Dreo Whole Room Heater 714 review

    Published January 9, 2026. $99 at review time. Compares the 714 with the Vornado VH200 "at the same price" and picks the Dreo. Maker says 34 dB; the reviewer measured "closer to 50dB" with a sound-meter app. 1,500 W, 90° horizontal and 60° vertical oscillation, 12-hour timer, tip-over shutoff at 45°, coverage claim 161 to 269 sq ft. Cons: slow remote, concentrated airflow. Read November 3, 2026.

  2. 2

    Wired: 8 Best Space Heaters (2026): Tested, Measured, and Mistreated

    Updated November 2026 (byline November 1, 2026; first published January 6, 2025). Best Overall: Dreo Whole Room Heater 714, $90, 40 to 50 dB, 900 / 1,300 / 1,500 W. Best Quiet: Vornado TAVH10, $130, 36 to 46 dB, 900 / 1,500 W, timer and remote, no oscillation. Best Personal: Vornado VC-01, $80, warms the space in front of it by as much as 10°F. Calls the AVH10 "basically" the TAVH10 without the timer and remote, $30 less. Notes the Dreo HSH015 recall of October 29. Read November 3, 2026.

  3. 3

    Good Housekeeping: The Best Space Heaters, tested

    Top pick: Vornado MVH (3 heat settings of 750, 1,125 and 1,500 W, 1 to 7 thermostat, five-year warranty). Second: Dreo Atom 316 (DR-HSH006): 7°F rise in a medium room in 30 minutes on max, 47.9 dB at 6 inches on max, 41 to 95°F thermostat in 1°F steps. Heaters are tested heating a 50°F area for 90 minutes. Read November 3, 2026.

  4. 4

    Family Handyman: Vornado space heater review (Vornado MVH vs Dreo Atom One)

    Published September 24, 2025. Of 12 heaters tested in rooms of 169 to 196 sq ft, the Vornado shut off immediately when tipped slightly; the Dreo Atom One took two to three minutes after being tipped on its side. The Vornado never reached 80°F in a 189 sq ft bedroom over three hours. Calls the Vornado the safer option and the better one for tight spaces; the Dreo is about $20 cheaper and adds oscillation, a remote and a touchscreen. Read November 3, 2026.

  5. 5

    Consumer Reports: 6 Quietest Space Heaters From Our Tests

    Updated November 5, 2025. Six heaters earned an excellent noise rating: Midea MSF15AH6LB, PureGuardian HTR410B, Vornado MVH, Vornado VH10 ("the quietest space heater in our ratings"), Vornado VH200 and Vornado VMHi600. No Dreo model is on the list. CR gives a tested range of 20.23 to 56.3 dBA across all heaters, with no decibel number per model. Read November 3, 2026.

  6. 6

    Dreo: U.S. Warranty Policy

    "original defects in materials and workmanship" for "twelve (12) months from the date of your purchase." Read November 3, 2026.

  7. 7

    Vornado: Warranty information

    "Most Vornado products have a guarantee that gives you peace of mind for 5 years." "Select personal products ... three years." The TAVH10, MVH, AVH10 and VC-01 Amazon listings each say Vornado will "replace it, for up to 5 years." Read November 3, 2026.

  8. 8

    U.S. CPSC Recall 27-054: DREO, October 29, 2026

    Read November 2, 2026. About 338,800 units. Can overheat and ignite. 17 reports of ignition, 3 with property damage and 1 hand burn.

  9. 9

    U.S. CPSC Recall 26-532: Vornado, June 4, 2026

    Read November 2, 2026. About 255,000 units. The fan blade can come off the motor shaft, so the heater overheats and melts. 32 overheating reports, 8 fires.

  10. 10

    U.S. CPSC Recall 25-093: Vornado, January 16, 2025

    Read November 2, 2026. About 7,780 units. The power cord can come partly loose from the heater and wear, which risks shock and fire. No injuries reported.

  11. 11

    Intertek: ETL Listed Mark Directory

    Searched by model number on November 3, 2026. Each record cited names the heater's model number and says UL 1278.

  12. 12

    U.S. CPSC news release, January 23, 2026: Keep warm and safe this winter (generators, furnaces and space heaters)

    Read October 17, 2026. Portable heaters, including electric space heaters: an average of 1,600 fires, 70 deaths and 150 injuries a year (2020 to 2022). 3 feet from drapes, furniture and bedding; plug directly into a wall outlet, never an extension cord or power strip; "Turn off heaters when sleeping."

  13. 13
  14. 14

    U.S. EIA Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3: Average Price of Electricity to Ultimate Customers by End-Use Sector (data for August 2026, released October 23, 2026)

    Residential column, year to date through August 2026: 18.19 cents per kWh (preliminary). August 2026 alone: 18.16. Read November 3, 2026.

  15. 15

    Dimplex (heater maker): "How big a heater do I need to heat my room?"

    "The general rule for electric heat is to use 10 watts of heat per square foot of space ... in a standard insulated room."

  16. 16

    Amazon listings: the maker's own words on features, noise, timer and warranty

    7 heaters, from each listing's own words; price, seller and availability read live November 4, 2026.