Heated Blanket vs Space Heater: Which Costs Less, Which Is Safer?

Use a heated blanket to warm yourself in bed, and a space heater only to warm a room while you are awake. A 110-watt queen blanket costs about 16 cents for an 8-hour night at the U.S. average electricity price; a 1,500-watt heater costs about $2.18, about 14 times as much. Warming the bed for an hour costs about 2 cents with the blanket.[1]

We earn a commission if you buy through our Amazon links. It never changes the price or our picks.

Cost per night where you live

  • Heated blanket, one night$0.16
  • Space heater (1,500 W), one night$2.18
  • Heated blanket, a 5-month winter$24
  • Space heater, a 5-month winter$327

At 18.19 cents per kWh (U.S. average, January to July 2026). Both on high the whole time, so this is the most each can cost.

01 / Cost

Which costs less to run?

  • A heated blanket uses a small fraction of the power. Of the 27 heated blankets, throws and pads we checked, 5 print their wattage, and they use 100 to 115 watts. A plug-in space heater uses 1,500 watts on high.[8]
  • One night costs about 16 cents vs $2.18. That is 110 watts vs 1,500 watts for 8 hours at 18.19 cents per kWh, the U.S. average for January to July 2026. Over a five-month winter of nights, that is $24 vs $327.[1]
  • Both cost less in real use. These are full-power numbers. A blanket's controller (the plug-in switch with the heat settings) and a heater's thermostat both turn the heat off and on to hold your setting.
  • To buy, they cost about the same. Our blanket picks cost $37 to $80. Our space heater picks cost $24 to $70.
  • They do different jobs. A blanket warms you, not the room. To warm the whole bedroom, see whether a space heater beats your furnace. For one night where you live, see the table for every state.

02 / Safety

Which is safer?

  • Space heaters are tied to more fires. The CPSC (the federal product safety agency) counts about 1,600 fires and 70 deaths a year from portable heaters (2020 to 2022).[3] The NFPA, a fire safety research group, puts space heaters and heating stoves in one group. That group causes about 3 in 10 home heating fires but 73% of the deaths from them (2020 to 2024).[2]
  • Old heated blankets are the main blanket risk. The Electrical Safety Foundation, an industry safety group, says heating pads and electric blankets cause almost 500 fires a year. Almost all involve blankets more than 10 years old. Its page gives no year for this count.[6]
  • Neither is meant to run while you sleep. The CPSC says to turn heaters off when sleeping.[3] UL, the safety lab that tests electric blankets, says to warm the bed with the blanket, then turn it off.[5]
  • So, on a cold night: warm the bed with the blanket, then turn it off and pull your comforter up. If you keep the blanket on, set it to low, put nothing on top of it, and let the auto shut-off be your backup.[4]
  • Recalls are common. Since January 2025, the CPSC has recalled about 381,560 heated blankets and throws from JKMAX, OCTROT, MaxKare, and warned buyers about Melinora. Check the model number on your blanket's tag or controller against the list below.[7]

Heated blankets recalled since 2023

CPSC recalls and warnings for heated blankets, throws and pads, 2023 to 2026
BlanketModelsUnitsWhat to do
JKMAXheated blankets and heating padsSeptember 17, 2026 · sold on Amazon JKMAX-002, JKMAX-7284B, JKMAX-6284B, JKMAX-10090B, JKMAX-8490B 195,000 The heating wires inside can overheat. Stop using it now; JKMAX gives a full refund. 577 reports, 53 burn injuries
OCTROTheated sherpa throws and blanketsJuly 30, 2026 · sold on Amazon OCT-5060, OCT-5062, OCT-6248, OCT-7284, OCT-8490 178,000 The cord can detach and catch fire. Stop using it now; cut the cord and send OCTROT a photo for a full refund. 555 reports, 27 fires, 15 burn or shock injuries
Melinoraelectric heated blankets (CPSC warning, not a recall)July 16, 2026 · sold on Amazon all 700 The heating wires can overheat and melt through the fabric. CPSC says stop using them and throw them away; the seller did not respond to CPSC. 5 reports, 1 burn injury
MaxKareelectric blanketsJune 18, 2025 HB18A-7284-1, HB18A-8490-2, HB18A-6284-1 8,560 They can overheat and catch fire. Stop using it; refund after you throw it away. 34 reports, 3 burns, 2 fires
Berkshire Blanket (and L.L. Bean)heated throws and blankets made 2022-2023November 30, 2023 · sold on Amazon tracker numbers 050122 to 063022 (14 ranges) 29,840 They can overheat. Stop using it; cut the cord and send a photo for a full refund. 9 reports, no injuries
Sunbeam (Star Elite)queen heated blanketMarch 16, 2023 · sold on Amazon 32810027 43,000 It can overheat. Stop using it; cut the cord and send a photo for a full refund. 13 reports, no injuries
Bedsureelectric heated blankets and pads sold Aug-Nov 2022March 9, 2023 · sold on Amazon BS-HB5060, BS-HB6284, BS-HB7284, BS-LV0A, BS-HP1224, BS-HP2433, BS-HP2422 350,000 The controller can fail and cause a fire or burn. Stop using it; Bedsure gives a full refund. 137 reports, 17 burn injuries

From each recall page on cpsc.gov, read October 17, 2026. Space heater recalls are on our space heater page.

Use a heated blanket safely

  • Lay it flat. Don't tuck it in, fold it, or pile blankets or pets on top of it. Let the edges hang over the sides of the bed.[4]
  • Check it each fall for dark, charred or frayed spots and a cracked cord. Replace an old or worn one.[6]
  • Don't use one for a baby, a young child, or anyone who can't work the controls. People with diabetes burn more easily.[5]
  • Never buy a used electric blanket.[5]

03 / What to buy

Heated blankets that list their safety features

Each pick's own listing states its wattage, a UL or ETL mark (labs that test products to safety standards) and an auto shut-off. Among those, it is the top seller of its type on Amazon. We checked each model number against every recall below.[8]

For the bed

Bedsure heated blanket, queen

Dual controls, so each side sets its own heat. 110 W, ETL listed, 8 hours auto-off, model BS-100T. Costs about 16 cents a night on high.

$76.48 at Amazon, checked October 17, 2026 · sold by Bedsure Essentials

Check price on Amazon

Heat from below

Bedsure heated mattress pad, queen

A heated mattress pad goes under your sheet and warms you from below. 100 W, ETL listed, 12 hour auto off, model BS-HMQU-2. Costs about 15 cents a night on high.

$79.99 at Amazon, checked October 17, 2026 · sold by Bedsure Essentials

Check price on Amazon

For the couch

Bedsure heated throw

A throw is smaller and moves from room to room. 100 W, ETL listed, 8-hour auto shut-off, model BS-100T. Costs about 15 cents a night on high.

$36.97 at Amazon, checked October 17, 2026 · sold by Bedsure Essentials

Check price on Amazon

Bedsure recalled about 350,000 blankets and pads sold in late 2022 (models BS-HB5060, BS-HB6284, BS-HB7284, BS-LV0A and pads BS-HP1224, BS-HP2433, BS-HP2422). The Bedsure models picked here are newer and not on that list; each card shows its model number. On a blanket you own, the model number is on the tag and the controller.[7]

All 17 heated blankets, throws and pads that list a safety mark and an auto shut-off by type, then price
Heated blankets, throws and mattress pads on Amazon whose listing states a UL or ETL listing and an auto shut-off
BlanketTypeWattsPriceBuy
ESTINGOthrow · 4 hours auto off Throw not stated $24.29 Check price
Texcitingthrow · 3 hour auto-off Throw not stated $26.99 Check price
GOTCOZYthrow · 3-hours automatic shut-off Throw not stated $29.99 Check price
Bedsurethrow · 8-hour auto shut-off Throw 100 W $36.97 Check price
Sunbeamthrow · 4-hour auto shut-off Throw not stated $37.72 Check price
Westinghousethrow · 10-hour timer Throw not stated $39.99 Check price
Sunbeamthrow · 4-hour auto shut-off Throw not stated $52.47 Check price
FVERWAGqueen, dual controls · 10 hours auto off Bed blanket not stated $49.97 Check price
Sertafull, dual controls · 1-12 hour auto shut off safety timer Bed blanket not stated $75.51 Check price
Bedsurequeen, dual controls · 8 hours auto-off Bed blanket 110 W $76.48 Check price
Sealyqueen, dual controls · 1-12 hour auto shutoff Bed blanket not stated $87.99 Check price
Westinghousequeen, dual controls · 12-hour timer Bed blanket not stated $99.99 Check price
Westinghousequeen · 1-12 hour timer Bed blanket 100 W $105.99 Check price
Brookstonequeen · 12-hour auto shut-off Bed blanket not stated $109.99 Check price
Sealyfull · 1-9 hours automatic power off Mattress pad not stated $59.99 Check price
Bedsurequeen, dual controls · 12 hour auto off Mattress pad 100 W $79.99 Check price
Sertaqueen, dual controls · 1-12 hour auto shut off safety timer Mattress pad not stated $90.28 Check price

04 / Every state

One night in every state

Cost of one 8-hour night by state: a 110 watt heated blanket vs a 1,500 watt space heater
State¢/kWhBlanket, 1 nightHeater, 1 nightHeater, winter
U.S. average 18.2 $0.16 $2.18 $327
Alabama 16.5 $0.15 $1.98 $298
Alaska 27.1 $0.24 $3.25 $488
Arizona 15.4 $0.14 $1.85 $278
Arkansas 13.6 $0.12 $1.63 $245
California 33.3 $0.29 $3.99 $599
Colorado 16.7 $0.15 $2.01 $301
Connecticut 28.0 $0.25 $3.36 $503
Delaware 17.9 $0.16 $2.14 $321
District of Columbia 24.7 $0.22 $2.96 $444
Florida 15.3 $0.13 $1.84 $275
Georgia 15.4 $0.14 $1.85 $277
Hawaii 46.3 $0.41 $5.55 $833
Idaho 13.0 $0.11 $1.56 $233
Illinois 19.2 $0.17 $2.31 $346
Indiana 17.0 $0.15 $2.04 $307
Iowa 14.2 $0.12 $1.70 $256
Kansas 15.2 $0.13 $1.83 $274
Kentucky 14.3 $0.13 $1.71 $257
Louisiana 13.3 $0.12 $1.60 $240
Maine 30.0 $0.26 $3.60 $540
Maryland 21.3 $0.19 $2.56 $383
Massachusetts 30.1 $0.27 $3.62 $543
Michigan 21.5 $0.19 $2.58 $388
Minnesota 16.3 $0.14 $1.95 $293
Mississippi 15.2 $0.13 $1.82 $273
Missouri 14.0 $0.12 $1.68 $251
Montana 13.9 $0.12 $1.67 $251
Nebraska 12.9 $0.11 $1.55 $232
Nevada 13.5 $0.12 $1.62 $244
New Hampshire 26.8 $0.24 $3.21 $482
New Jersey 24.0 $0.21 $2.88 $432
New Mexico 15.1 $0.13 $1.81 $271
New York 29.4 $0.26 $3.53 $529
North Carolina 14.9 $0.13 $1.79 $269
North Dakota 12.4 $0.11 $1.48 $222
Ohio 18.7 $0.16 $2.24 $337
Oklahoma 13.6 $0.12 $1.63 $244
Oregon 15.4 $0.14 $1.85 $277
Pennsylvania 21.0 $0.19 $2.52 $379
Rhode Island 29.2 $0.26 $3.51 $526
South Carolina 15.9 $0.14 $1.91 $287
South Dakota 14.5 $0.13 $1.74 $261
Tennessee 13.9 $0.12 $1.66 $250
Texas 16.1 $0.14 $1.93 $289
Utah 13.2 $0.12 $1.58 $237
Vermont 23.9 $0.21 $2.87 $431
Virginia 16.8 $0.15 $2.02 $303
Washington 14.4 $0.13 $1.73 $259
West Virginia 15.5 $0.14 $1.86 $278
Wisconsin 19.0 $0.17 $2.28 $342
Wyoming 13.9 $0.12 $1.67 $251

One night = watts ÷ 1,000 × 8 hours × the state's average home electricity price (EIA). Winter = 150 nights.

05 / When a heater wins

When a space heater is the better choice

  • You need the room warm, not just you. Getting dressed, working at a desk, or a cold bathroom. A blanket can't do that.
  • Someone else wants the room warm. A blanket only warms the person under it. A partner who won't use one may want the heater on while you're both awake.
  • You're awake and in the room. Run it while you're there, and turn it off when you leave or go to bed.[3]
  • Buy one with a thermostat, tip-over shutoff and a UL or ETL label. See our space heater picks, and why a pricier heater doesn't make more heat.

06 / Questions

Frequently asked

How much does it cost to run an electric blanket all night?
A 110-watt queen blanket on high for 8 hours uses 0.88 kWh: about 16 cents at the U.S. average of 18.19 cents per kWh, or $24 for a five-month winter of nights. That is the most it costs. The controller turns the heat on and off to hold your setting, so on low it uses less. [8][1]
Do electric blankets use much electricity?
No. The heated blankets, throws and pads we checked that state their wattage use 100 to 115 watts. A plug-in space heater uses 1,500 watts on high, about 14 times more. [8]
Is it safe to sleep with a heated blanket on all night?
UL says to use the blanket to warm the bed, then turn it off before you go to sleep. If you leave it on, use a blanket with an auto shut-off, keep it on low, and never tuck it in, fold it or pile other blankets or pets on top of it. Do not use one for a baby, a young child, or anyone who cannot work the controls. People with diabetes should take extra care: they burn more easily. [5][4]
Is it safe to sleep with a space heater on?
No. The CPSC says to turn heaters off when sleeping. Keep a heater 3 feet from bedding and furniture, and plug it straight into a wall outlet, never a power strip or extension cord. [3]
Heated blanket or heated mattress pad: which is better?
They use about the same power: the pad we list uses 100 watts. A pad heats you from below, under your sheet. A blanket can also go on the couch. For a bed shared by two, pick one with dual controls. [8][4]
Is a heated blanket safe for an older adult?
Yes, if they can feel heat and work the controls. The CPSC home safety checklist for older adults says to lay the blanket flat, never tuck it in, and keep everything off the top of it. UL warns that people with diabetes burn more easily, and that anyone who cannot work the controls should not use one. [4][5]
Can I use a heated blanket and a space heater together?
Yes, one after the other. Run the heater while you get ready for bed, turn it off when you lie down, and let the blanket keep you warm. The CPSC says to turn heaters off when sleeping, and UL says to turn the blanket off once the bed is warm. [3][5]
Is a heated blanket the same as an electric blanket?
Yes. Both names mean a blanket with heating wires inside and a plug-in controller.
Has my heated blanket been recalled?
Check the model number on the tag or controller against the recall list on this page. Since 2023, the CPSC has announced 6 recalls of heated blankets, throws and pads, plus one warning. Never buy a used electric blanket. [7][5]

07 / Sources

Where these numbers come from

  1. 1

    U.S. EIA: Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.B, average residential price of electricity by state

    Year-to-Date through July 2026, read October 13, 2026. Cents per kWh.

  2. 2

    NFPA: Heating equipment safety, statistics on heating fires (2020-2024 annual averages)

    Read October 17, 2026. 37,365 home heating equipment fires a year, 417 deaths. "Space heaters and heating stoves ... accounting for nearly a third (30%) of the fires, but over seven out of ten deaths (73%) and seven out of ten (70%) of the injuries in home fires caused by heating equipment." NFPA safety card: "Keep space heaters 3 feet away."

  3. 3

    U.S. CPSC news release, January 23, 2026: Keep warm and safe this winter (generators, furnaces and space heaters)

    Read October 17, 2026. Portable heaters, including electric space heaters: an average of 1,600 fires, 70 deaths and 150 injuries a year (2020 to 2022). 3 feet from drapes, furniture and bedding; plug directly into a wall outlet, never an extension cord or power strip; "Turn off heaters when sleeping."

  4. 4

    U.S. CPSC: Safety for Older Consumers, Home Safety Checklist (electric blankets)

    Read October 17, 2026. "Electrically-heated blankets are not folded, covered by other objects, or 'tucked in,' when in use." "Do not allow anything, including other blankets, comforters, and even sleeping pets, on top of the electric blanket while it is in use." "The edges of your electric blanket should hang freely over the sides and end of the bed."

  5. 5

    UL Solutions: Electric blankets are cozy, but are they safe?

    Read October 17, 2026. "Use the blanket to heat up the bed — then turn it off before you go to sleep." "people with diabetes are more vulnerable to burns from electric blankets." Not for infants, young children or anyone who cannot work the controls. "Never buy an electric blanket from a secondhand shop or garage sale."

  6. 6

    Electrical Safety Foundation (ESFI): Heating pads and electric blankets safety

    Read October 17, 2026 (no date on the page). "Heating pads and electric blankets cause almost 500 fires each year. Almost all of these fires involve electric blankets that are more than ten years old." "Look for dark, charred, or frayed spots..."

  7. 7

    U.S. CPSC recalls and warnings: heated blankets, throws and pads, 2023 to 2026

    Each recall page read October 17, 2026 (links in the recall table). Units, hazards, incidents and remedies are from those pages.

  8. 8

    Amazon.com listings (wattage, safety listing and timer from each listing; price and seller from the product page)

    Listings read October 17, 2026; prices checked October 17, 2026. Prices change; the button shows today's.