Best Oil-Filled Radiator Heater (2026): Safe, Quiet Picks by Room Size
For most bedrooms and offices, buy the Comfort Zone digital oil-filled radiator with remote ($89.67 on November 4, 2026). It has every safety feature the CPSC and DOE ask for, plus a timer. Every 1,500 W oil-filled heater makes the same heat, so a bigger or pricier one will not warm a room more.
Best for most rooms
Comfort Zone digital oil-filled radiator with remote
$89.67 on Amazon
Check price on Amazon- Its listing states a thermostat, tip-over and overheat shutoff, and an ETL safety mark.
- A timer, so it can switch itself off after you fall asleep. The CPSC says to turn heaters off when you sleep.
- The cheapest of the 7 oil-filled heaters we found with every safety feature plus a timer, sold by Amazon.
- Like every plug-in heater, 1,500 W: enough for about 150 sq ft.
The oil-filled heaters ChatGPT and review sites recommend, checked
Asked for the best oil-filled radiator heater, ChatGPT names these models. Here is what each one's own Amazon listing states about the safety features the CPSC and DOE ask for, set against the same screen as our picks. Every 1,500 W oil-filled heater makes the same heat and costs about $0.27 an hour on high, so the choice comes down to controls and safety, not warmth. A heater that fails our safety screen is not one of our picks.
-
$99.99 on AmazonChatGPT: best for a remote, a 24-hour timer and value (named in 2 of 3 answers)
Dreo DR-HSH010 · 1,500 W · timer · ETL mark · passes our safety screen
Its listing says "Overheat & Tip-Over Protection, 24h Timer" and "ETL listed".
-
$189.95 on AmazonChatGPT: best for a premium heater to keep for years (named in 2 of 3 answers)
De'Longhi Dragon Digital (TRD40615E) · 1,500 W · timer · no safety mark stated · fails our safety screen
Its listing says "a thermal cut-off function that turns off the machine in case of overheating" and a child lock. It does not state a thermostat, tip-over shutoff or a UL, ETL or CSA mark.
-
$119.99 on AmazonChatGPT: best for a larger single room (named in 2 of 3 answers)
Pelonis PSHO06MR6ASB · 1,500 W · timer · no safety mark stated · fails our safety screen
Its listing says "24H Timer, Quiet, Overheat & Tip-Over Protection". It does not state a UL, ETL or CSA mark.
-
$70.19 on AmazonChatGPT: best for a basic budget heater (named in 2 of 3 answers)
Amazon Basics CY62RR-7 (7 fins) · 1,500 W · ETL mark · passes our safety screen
Its listing says "Adjustable Thermostat, Tip-Over and Overheat Protection, ETL Safety Certificate".
-
$135.89 on AmazonChatGPT: best for a remote and a 24-hour timer (named in 1 of 3 answers)
Dreo DR-HSH011 · 1,500 W · timer · ETL mark · passes our safety screen
Its listing says "tip-over protection, V0 flame retardant material, triple overheat protection, and safety plug, all certified by ETL".
-
$129.95 on AmazonChatGPT: best for simple dial controls (named in 1 of 3 answers)
De'Longhi EW7707CM · 1,500 W · no safety mark stated · fails our safety screen
Its listing says a ComfortTemp thermostat. It does not state tip-over shutoff or a UL, ETL or CSA mark.
Models from ChatGPT's answers to "best oil filled radiator heater," asked October 24, 2026. Safety facts are each Amazon listing's own words; a model whose listing is silent on a feature fails the screen.
Which one is right for you?
-
$70.19 on AmazonTo spend less
Amazon Basics CY62RR-7 oil-filled radiator · 1,500 W · ETL mark · tip-over and overheat shutoff
The cheapest oil-filled heater sold by Amazon with a thermostat, tip-over and overheat shutoff and a safety mark. No timer, so switch it off yourself before bed. Same heat as the top pick.
-
$89.67 each on AmazonFor a room bigger than 150 sq ft
Two Comfort Zone digital oil-filled radiators with remote · 1,500 W · ETL mark · tip-over and overheat shutoff · timer
No plug-in heater makes more than 1,500 W. For about 300 sq ft, run two, each on a different circuit.
- See our space heater picks
If you want fast heat
A ceramic fan heater · same 1,500 W, warms the air in minutes
An oil-filled radiator is slow to warm up because it heats the oil first. A fan heater blows warm air right away but makes fan noise.
Prices are Amazon's on November 4, 2026. Every pick is sold by Amazon and names a UL, ETL or CSA mark in its listing.
01 / Size
What size oil-filled heater you need
Every heater that plugs into a normal outlet tops out at 1,500 watts, or 5,118 Btu of heat an hour (EIA: 1 kWh = 3,412 Btu). An oil-filled radiator with 7 fins makes the same heat as one with 11.6
Heater maker Dimplex plans on 10 watts per square foot in an insulated room, so one 1,500 W heater warms about 150 sq ft. Some listings claim more for the same heat: the Costway NSC-150-7A2R oil-filled radiator listing says 300 sq ft. A cold or drafty room needs more; a room your furnace already warms needs less.5
| Room | Sq ft | Watts | Btu an hour | What to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small office or nursery | 70 | 700 | 2,388 | one 700 W heater |
| Small bedroom (10 × 10 ft) | 100 | 1,000 | 3,412 | one 1,500 W heater |
| Bedroom (12 × 12.5 ft) | 150 | 1,500 | 5,118 | one 1,500 W heater |
| Large bedroom (14 × 14 ft) | 200 | 2,000 | 6,824 | 2 heaters on 2 circuits |
| Living room (15 × 20 ft) | 300 | 3,000 | 10,236 | 2 heaters on 2 circuits |
02 / Cost
What it costs to run
At the U.S. average home price of 18.19¢ per kWh (EIA, year to date through July 2026), 1,500 W costs about $0.27 an hour on high, or $2.18 for 8 hours. Prices differ a lot by state.7 See the cost in your state.
An oil-filled heater is not cheaper to run than a ceramic one. The DOE says electric resistance heat is "100% energy efficient": every heater turns the same power into the same heat. The oil only stores heat, so the radiator warms up slowly and keeps giving off heat for a while after it shuts off.4
What lowers the bill: a thermostat that switches it off when the room is warm, the low setting, and fewer hours. "ECO" modes on the listings do this with the thermostat; they do not make more heat per watt.
03 / Safety
Safety rules for oil-filled heaters
Every pick here has a thermostat, tip-over and overheat shutoff, and a safety mark in its listing. How you use it matters just as much.
- Plug it straight into a wall outlet. “Plug electric space heaters directly into a wall outlet—never into an extension cord or power strip.” (CPSC)
- Keep it 3 feet from anything that can burn. “Keep portable heaters at least three feet away from drapes, furniture, bedding and other combustible materials” (CPSC)
- Turn it off when you sleep or leave the room. “Turn off heaters when sleeping.” (CPSC)
- Buy one that shuts off if it tips over. “Buy a unit with a tip-over safety switch, which automatically shuts off the heater if the unit is tipped over.” (DOE)
- Stop using it if it leaks oil. “Welds in the heating fins can break, allowing oil to leak. This poses a burn and fall hazard to consumers.” (CPSC)
04 / Every one in stock
All 16 in-stock oil-filled heaters with a thermostat and tip-over and overheat shutoff
| Heater | Watts | Safety mark | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1,500 W with a timer | ||||
| 1,500 | ETL | $71.99 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | ETL | $89.67 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | ETL | $89.99 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | ETL | $99.99 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | — | $119.99 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | ETL | $135.89 | Buy | |
| 1,500 W, no timer | ||||
| 1,500 | ETL | $52.99 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | — | $54.97 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | ETL | $70.19 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | — | $71.99 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | — | $74.99 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | — | $75.99 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | — | $75.99 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | — | $86.19 | Buy | |
| 1,500 | — | $89.99 | Buy | |
| Smaller heaters (under 1,500 W) | ||||
| 700 | ETL | $62.99 | Buy | |
Watts, safety mark and timer are each listing's own words; a dash means the listing names no mark. Every heater here states a thermostat and tip-over and overheat shutoff. Recalled models are left out. Prices read live November 4, 2026.
05 / Questions
Frequently asked
- Is an oil-filled heater cheaper to run than other space heaters?
- No. At the same watts, every electric heater makes the same heat; the DOE calls electric resistance heat "100% energy efficient." A 1,500 W oil-filled heater costs about $0.27 an hour on high at the U.S. average price. It can feel cheaper because its thermostat cycles it off and it keeps radiating heat.
- Which is better, the Dreo or the De'Longhi Dragon?
- On their Amazon listings, the Dreo DR-HSH010 states a thermostat, tip-over and overheat shutoff, a 24-hour timer and an ETL mark. The De'Longhi Dragon Digital (TRD40615E) states overheat shutoff, a timer and a child lock, but no thermostat, no tip-over shutoff and no safety mark. Both make 1,500 W, so they heat a room the same. On what the listings state, the Dreo passes our safety screen and the Dragon does not.
- Is it safe to leave an oil-filled heater on overnight?
- The CPSC says "Turn off heaters when sleeping," and that includes oil-filled ones. Warm the room before bed, then switch it off, or buy one with a timer, like our top pick, so it shuts itself off. It keeps the room warm for a while after it is off.
- What size oil-filled heater do I need?
- Plan on 10 watts per square foot (Dimplex's rule). A 1,500 W heater warms about 150 sq ft; a 700 W one about 70 sq ft. For a bigger room, use two heaters on different circuits. More fins do not mean more heat.
- Do you ever need to refill the oil?
- No. The oil is sealed inside the fins at the factory and is not burned; it only holds heat. Several listings say "Never Refill." If you ever see oil leaking, stop using it: in 2005 the CPSC recalled about 202,000 King of Fans oil-filled heaters because fin welds could break and leak hot oil.
- How long does an oil-filled heater take to heat a room?
- Longer than a fan heater, because it warms the oil first and has no fan to push the air. Turn it on before you need the room warm. If you want heat in a few minutes, a ceramic fan heater is the better tool.
- Are oil-filled heaters quiet?
- They have no fan, so there is no fan noise. You may hear the thermostat click on and off. That is why people pick them for bedrooms.
- Can I plug an oil-filled heater into an extension cord?
- No. The CPSC says to plug space heaters directly into a wall outlet, never into an extension cord or power strip.
References
Sources
- 1
- 2
- 3
- 4
- 5
- 6
- 7
- 8
Amazon listings: watts, safety marks, timers and room claims as each listing states them